Schools registered for the 2016 Regional Quiz Bowl Tournaments. High Schools are shown in blue. Middle Schools are shown in red. Schools with a B team have a (B) after their name. A minimum of three B teams are required to form a B team tournament. Registration is now closed, but B teams may be added through February 19.

West Regional at Hickory HS
- Christ School
- Thomas Jefferson Classical HS (B)
- Statesville Christian
- Hickory HS (B)
- Discovery HS
- Surry Early College 
Charlotte Area Regional at Hickory Ridge MS
- Providence HS (B)
- Myers Park HS (B)
- AL Brown HS
- Ardrey Kell HS (B)
- Hickory Ridge MS
- Jay M Robinson MS (B)
- Metrolina Regional Scholars (B)
- JN Fries MS (B)
- Thomas Jefferson CA (B)
- Randolph MS
Triad Regional at Thomasville HS
- High Point Central HS (B)
- The Early College at Guilford
- Southern Guilford HS
- Southeast Guilford HS
- Atkins A&T HS (B)
- Jordan-Matthews HS (B)
- Thomasville HS
- Northwest Guilford HS (B)
- Lexington Senior HS
- Middle College at GTCC
- Western Guilford HS (B)
- Thomasville MS
- Brown Summit MS (B)
- River Bend MS
- Mount Airy MS
- Northwest Guilford MS
- Mount Mourne MS (B)
Triangle Regional at Ligon MS
- Raleigh Charter HS (B)
- Smithfield Selma HS
- Northwood HS
- Thales Academy HS
- Carrboro HS (B)
- Smith MS
- Falls Lake Academy
- Thales Academy MS
- Ligon GT Magnet MS (B)
Sandhills Regional at Highland MS
- Brunswick EC HS
- Union Pines HS
- Cross Creek EC HS (B)
- Terry Sanford HS
- Lee Early College HS
- Western Harnett HS
- Pine Forest MS
- 71st Classical MS 
- Overhills MS
- Hope Mills MS
Northeast Regional at Pactolus School
- Wayne School of Engineering HS (B)
- John A Holmes HS
- Central MS
- Pactolus School
- Wayne School of Engineering MS
- Chowan MS
- Bethel School

The number of schools advancing from each Regional will be announced by February 19.